New Year, New Beginnings

Although Goodnight Doll has now been published, Fireworksit is still very much part of my daily life. Having opted to become a self-published author, otherwise known as an indie writer, I now also face the daunting responsibility for the marketing of my book. What an education this is!

I find myself immersed in the words of wisdom from those that have already been successful and as you can imagine, there is a plethora of books, blogs and articles out there guaranteeing to catapult me to instant stardom and literary success. What is becoming very clear to me is that writing a book is probably the easiest part of the process, which doesn’t finish with the publishing of your book. The journey into indie writing has been exciting, frustrating, confusing, challenging but above all, empowering. I have also had the pleasure of connecting with a group of people around the world I would not otherwise have had the opportunity to get to know. Thanks to technology I can sit in the comfort of my study, or wherever I might find myself, and tap into the experiences of others willingly shared on the many blogs from around the world. What I have found hitherto is that indie writers are generous with their time and happily share their experiences with newbies like myself.

Apart from learning the art of marketing, pricing, the power of ratings and a myriad of other technical terms associated with publishing, I have also embarked on writing my next book. More about that over the weeks as it takes shape. I could never have envisaged when I took the first step on my journey of writing a tribute to Eugene and Pieter that it would lead me on the path towards a new career. Although writing has always been a part of my life, I am relishing the opportunity to dedicate my time to it. More importantly, I love the freedom it has afforded me. I write where, when and what I want and although being in control of the complete process is daunting, it is also immensely rewarding.

I have always thought of myself as a morning person and although I continue to get up fairly early and experience the world waking up around me with a cup of tea, I am experimenting with when is the best time of the day for the different tasks associated with writing. thumb_Scampy_1024A pattern is beginning to emerge. I check and respond to emails before breakfast, followed by marketing and research for my next book. Towards late morning, depending on the weather and where in the world I find myself, I go for a long walk to clear my head and allow thoughts to distil and take shape. My walking buddy is Scampy, my 9-year cocker spaniel who is also my loyal companion when I’m immersed in front of my laptop or desktop.

What is emerging is that my optimum time for writing appears to be in the afternoon. Thoughts and ideas have had the time to ferment during the morning (the French in me that loves a good wine!) and then bubbles to the surface. I am also conscious that if I am to achieve any success from my efforts, a certain amount of discipline will be necessary. Personally I work better when I have a goal or a deadline and I have currently tasked myself to write 2,000 words a day when I’m not travelling. My evenings are spent reading as I know the best way to learn to write is to read. My reading includes not only books, but also blogs of other writers I have discovered. Some of these are packed with inspiration, tips and advice or just a good read. My favourite is the weekly blog by Jamie Lee Wallace (nhwn.wordpress.com) whose writing makes me feel like a complete novice. She writes with an eloquent style and effortlessly weaves words together to form vivid pictures that inspire. Her blogs also reflect her passion for the art of writing, revealing an insight to her as a person. Well worth investigating.

I have no doubt that the pattern of writing, research, marketing and other activities of the indie writer I have not yet encountered, will evolve over time. In the meantime, I am enjoying the journey!

 

 

 

 

 

About Angélique du Toit

The raison d'être for my blog entitled, One Step at a Time, was originally to share my journey of writing a tribute to two very special people; my brother Eugene and his partner, Pieter. I made a life changing decision to take a sabbatical from my role as an academic to fulfill what I had come to view as my life’s purpose, namely to write a book as a tribute to their six-year ordeal of living with cancer after my brother was diagnosed with terminal prostrate cancer. This blog was therefore to share this journey of writing my tribute, in the form of a book that was published in January 2016. Although, as an academic I have published numerous articles and books for an academic audience, my tribute to Eugene and Pieter required a very different style of writing. My blog was where I ranted and raved about my inadequacies as a creative writer, as opposed to an academic writer, and where I shared the adventure of finding a different voice of expression. However, I have moved on and decided to combine my love of writing with my insatiable passion and curiosity of people and my new blog, Hags with Attitude, is a culmination of my 20 year experience as a Coach and that of writing. My life has meandered around different countries and continents as well as different careers and my blog will share stories and experiences from women around the world. View all posts by Angélique du Toit

One response to “New Year, New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

